Kent County Cricket Club


Kent is said to be the birthplace of English cricket and, today, the county team and the limited-overs squad, called the Spitfires, remain at the centre of the English cricket world. Despite their long, unbroken history, the club have never established a fixed home ground, and today they share home matches between St Lawrence Ground, Canterbury, the County Cricket Ground, Beckenham and the Neville Ground, Tunbridge Wells. After a quiet period at the end of the twentieth century, Kent’s fortunes have picked up again since the millennium, although the enthusiasm of their fanbase has never abated.

Early Days

Kent Cricket Club emerges alongside the history of the game itself. The first known reference to the game of cricket mentions Newenden in Kent, while the first definite reference to a cricket match in 1610 specifies a game played at Chevening between teams from the Weald and the Downs. Cricket and cricket matches were then mentioned with increasing frequency throughout the seventeenth century and the first undisputed county game was played between Kent and Sussex in 1709.

Kent continued as one of three dominant teams in English cricket into the nineteenth century, the other two being Surrey and a particularly strong Hambledon side. Powerful noble patrons and fixtures against the forerunners of the English national team, then called the ‘All England’ squad, ensured that Kent remained a notable team.

The team were pioneers of English cricket in other ways too. In an 1822 match at Lords, Kent cricketer John Willes was no-balled for bowling with a roundarm action, an action he had been promoting as a legitimate style of play for some years. Willes reacted by leaving the pitch and refusing to rejoin play, and his protest has gone down in cricketing history as provoking the ‘roundarm revolution’, which reconfigured accepted bowling styles.

From the 1830s through the 1840s, Kent took the Champion County title with regularity, and many of their players in that era – Alfred Mynn, Fuller Pilch, and Nicholas ‘Felix’ Wanostrocht – are still remembered as amongst the club’s very finest.

In 1842, the Kent County Cricket Club was formalized in Canterbury, and in 1859 the standing institution was radically reorganized to make it into the club it is today.

The years preceding World War I were famously good for cricket, and for Kent in particular. They took the County Championship four times in eight years, undaunted by the fact that the pavilion at Tunbridge Wells was burned down by Suffragettes in April 1913. Indeed, club management orchestrated its reconstruction in nine hasty weeks.

After the war, surviving players returned to the team and took up where they left off. Frank Woolley is famous for scoring over 2,000 runs for Kent in 1935 at the age of 48, and Kent were still justifiably proud of their cricket team, who consistently performed well at the top end of English cricket, despite failing to re-take the Championship.


Kent player Doug Wright kicked off the post-war years well, securing his seventh hat-trick for Kent in 1949, a feat which remains a record. However, the Kent squad in general, and the cricketing leagues in particular, did not take up the game after two world wars with as much enthusiasm as they had played it in 1913.

The 1950s and 1960s were inglorious for Kent, and it was a surprise even to their fans when the squad seemed on the rise again towards the end of the 1960s. The omens then were accurate, as the 1970s would be a decade the club would not forget, claiming ten domestic trophies as well as winning some impressive international friendlies.

In 1970, the club took the County Championship title for the first time since it had been rechristened in 1890, and reclaimed it in 1978, after sharing the accolade in 1977. To add to these trophies, they claimed the Benson and Hedges Cup in 1973, 1976 and 1978, and the Gillette Cup in 1974, with famed international batters and wicket-keepers such as Asif Iqbal and Alan Knott keeping the team’s fame alive and helping them win trophy after trophy. The Kent team of the day was truly dynamic, as the county academy brought new England players up through the ranks, and the county’s transfer system drafted in fully fledged cricket players from all over the world.

Recent Years

However, after the ‘golden decade’ of Kent cricket in the 1970s, they soon slipped under the competitive radar again, despite maintaining a high profile in terms of media attention and fanbase. The 1980s proved a dry decade and it would not be until 1995 that the team would take their next trophy, the Sunday League trophy, which they recaptured post-millennium in 2001. Despite such admittedly modest successes, Kent was maintaining its place near the top of English cricket leagues and tournaments but simply fell short when it mattered.

The Club Today

In 2006, as per their normal form, Kent finished the season a respectable but non-ranking fifth place in Division 1 of the County Championship, and the Spitfires paralleled them at fifth in the NatWest Pro40 League Division 2.

However, the next season, they were to move upwards. In August 2007, Kent CCC took the Twenty20 Cup for the first time since its formation, after defeating favourites Gloucestershire in a nervous and uneven final. With the recent successes of Kent and the Spitfires, the club shows no signs of retreating from its historic place as one of England’s key cricketing counties.

Club Honours

  • Champion County: Winners (1837, 1843, 1847, 1849)
  • County Championship: Winners (1906, 1909, 1910, 1913, 1970, 1977 (Shared), 1978)
  • Gilette/ NatWest/ C&G Cup/ FP Trophy: Winners (1967, 1974)
  • National Sunday League: Winners (1972, 1973, 1976, 1995, 2001)
  • Benson & Hedges Cup: Winners (1973, 1976, 1978)
  • Twenty 20 Cup: Winners (2007)

Club Records

  • Highest Team Score: 803 – 4 vs. Essex (1934)
  • Worst Bowling Performance: 671 – 0 vs. Hampshire (2002)
  • Highest Individual Batting Score: 332 (W. H. Ashdown vs. Essex, 1934)
  • Best Bowling: 10-48 (C.H.G. Bland vs. Sussex, 1899)
  • Best Match Bowling: 7-48 (C. Blythe vs. Northamptonshire, 1907)
  • Most First-class Runs: 47868 (F. Woolley)
  • Most First-Class Wickets: 3340 (T. Freeman)

Ticket Information

Ticket information, including pricing information and online box office, is available on the club’s match information page.

Season tickets are also available on the club’s season ticket information page.

Contact Information

Online contact form.

Kent County Cricket Club
St Lawrence Ground
Old Dover Road

Tel: 01227 456 886
Fax: 01227 762 168
Web: Kent CCC Email:

Travel Information

Travel information is available online on the club’s travel information page, including Google map links and detailed travel directions.

Kent County Cricket ground is accessible by car via the M20, 1 mile from Canterbury East station and 1.5 miles from Canterbury West station. East Kent Stagecoach bus services 15, 16 and 17 to Folkestone pass outside the ground – check times on the Stagecoach website.