Derbyshire CCC

One of the 18 clubs to make up the domestic cricket structure, Derbyshire Country Cricket Club has its home at the former Racecourse Ground, now known as the County Cricket Ground, in the centre of Derby.


Derbyshire County Cricket Club formed in 1870 after a meeting was held at Derby’s Guild Hall. A year later, after playing their inaugural First Class match against Leicester County Cricket Club at Old Trafford, the club entered the County Championship. With the exception of a few successful matches at the beginning of their First Class career, Derbyshire performed badly in the County Championship and in 1888 the club lost its First Class Cricket status. By 1894 the club were back on form and returned to the Championship but in 1897 their weakness was marked again when they failed to win a single match, despite having a number of strong players in the team.

Until 1925 the club continued to lose most of their matches but in 1926 the tide began to change and a strong team emerged through the likes of Denis Smith, Stan Worthington and Tom Mitchell. In 1936 Derbyshire won 18 of their 28 matches played and for the first and only time in Derbyshire’s cricketing history the club was crowned County Champions.

Since the Second World War, Derbyshire have struggled in County Cricket and have performed only slightly better in One Day matches. During the sixties and seventies the team lost many more if its matches than it won but by 1981 the club had developed one of the strongest teams it had had for years. The strength of its 1981 team lead Derbyshire to a first-class victory for the first time since 1936 winning the Gillette Cup by wickets in a memorable final against Northamptonshire. In 1993 the club had another rare moment of glory, this time in One Day cricket when Derbyshire beat Lancashire by six runs in the final of the Benson & Hedges Cup.

Despite having had few domestic victories, Derbyshire has produced a number of excellent players through figures such as Mike Hendrick, Dominic Cork and Chris Adams and various Derbyshire players have represented England in test cricket over the past century. Whilst the club has developed some strong players, however, Derbyshire has always struggled with consistency being invariably let down by the team’s batting performance. In recent years many of the club’s better players have left the county to pursue success at other clubs.


Despite their long history, Derbyshire have won very few cricketing honours, but the club has had a few high points:

  • County Championships – 1936
  • Gillette/ Natwest/ C&G – 1981
  • National League – 1990
  • Benson and Hedges Cup – 1993

Highest scores

  • Highest score in an innings: 801-8 (v Somerset, 2007)
  • Highest individual score in an innings: 272 (George Davidson, 1896)
  • Most runs in a season for Derbyshire: 2165 (Donald Carr, 1959)
  • Most wickets in a season for Derbyshire: 168 (Tommy Mitchell, 1935)

Key Players

Despite a largely unsuccessful First Class history, Derbyshire have produced a number of significant players including:

William Storer: A strong batsman, Storer played six test matches for England, and First Class cricket for Derbyshire, achieving a batting record of 216 against Leciestershire in 1899.

Stan Worthington: Known as an all-rounder, Worthington was a consistent batsman and bowler and one of the players to turn Derbyshire’s performance around in the 1930s, marked when the team became Country Cricket Champions for the first and only time. Worthington played nine test matches for England scoring a personal record of 128 against India at the Oval in 1936.

Tom Mitchell: A leg-spin bowler Tom Mitchell is remembered as the most successful slow bowler ever to have played for Derbyshire. Despite replacing Bill Voce in a test match on the 1933 Ashes tour, Mitchell was never able to establish himself as a test cricketer. He was a key player for Derbyshire during the 1930’s taking a record 168 wickets for the county in 1935.

Les Jackson: One of the best bowlers to have emerged from Derbyshire, Les Jackson played for the club between 1947 and 1963 and was known for his extremely accurate fast-medium bowling. Jackson played two test matches and was named a Wisden Cricketer of the Year in 1959.

Don Carr: One of the best fielders of his day, Carr was a key player for Derbyshire during the 1950s. He played two test matches during England’s tour of India in 1951-52 and in 1960 he was named a Wisden Cricketer of the Year.

Dominic Cork: Considered an all-round cricketer, Cork played well as a batsman and bowler for Derbyshire between 1990 and 2003 before leaving to play for Leicestershire. He has played 37 test matches and was named a Wisden Cricketer of the Year in1996.

Current Squad

Derbyshire’s current squad includes:

Rikki Clarke

Gary Balance

Dan Birch

Paul Borrington

Jonathon Clare

Kevin Dean

Nayan Doshi

Ian Harvey

Wavell Hinds

Liam Hughes

Ian Hunter

Tom Lungley

Jake Needham

Chris Paget

Akhil Patel

James Pipe

Thomas Poynton

Dan Redfern

John Sadler

Ollie Saffell

Greg Smith

Steve Stubbings

Graham Wagg

Graeme Welch

Phil Weston

Wayne White

Ross Whitely


For information about matches or for general enquiries contact Derbyshire Country Cricket Club on:

Tel: 01332 383 211
Fax: 08707 651892
Address: Derbyshire County Cricket Club, The County Ground, Grandstand Road, Derby, UK, DE21 6AF


Directions to the Derbyshire County Ground are as follows:

By car:
From M1 South – leave the M1 at junction 25 and follow the A52 Derby for approximately 6 miles. At the Pentagon Island roundabout take the 4th exit and follow the brown signs into the cricket club.

From M1 North – leave the M1 at junction 28 and follow the A38 Derby for approximately 13 miles. At the next roundabout take the 1st exit marked A61 continuing on the A61 over two more roundabouts. Just before the next roundabout turn left into the cricket ground.

From Birmingham – take the A38 until the A61 roundabout. Take the 2nd exit and follow the A61 Derby over two more roundabouts. Just before the next roundabout take 1st exit into the cricket ground.

From M6 – leave the M6 at Junction 15 (from the south) and Junction 16 (from the north) and follow signs to the A50 Uttoxeter. Follow the A50 for approximately 20 miles to the A516 Derby. Take the A516 until it joins the A38 and take the A38 until the A61 roundabout. Take the 2nd exit and follow the A61 Derby over two more roundabouts. Just before the next roundabout take 1st exit into the cricket ground.

Parking: Cars can park on-site for £5 on match days.

By Train: Derby train station is well served by trains from London St Pancras, Leicester, Sheffield, Scotland, Newcastle, Yorkshire, Birmingham and Bristol as well as local services. The walk to the cricket ground from the train station takes approximately 20 minutes. For further directions the official Derbyshire Cricket site

Taxi: Taxis from the train station to the cricket ground cost approximately £4 and can be ordered on 01332 331 331 (Western Cars) or 01332 666 222 (Chads Cars)


Match tickets can be bought online at the official County Cricket Club website or by telephone on 01332 383 211. Match ticket prices for next season are yet to be confirmed but membership for a year or life-time membership can be bought at the following prices:

Full Membership (aged over 20): £135

Country Full (must live more than a 35 mile radius from the County Ground: £115

Young Adult (aged 16-20): £55

Business Membership (2 transferable passes): £290

Life Membership (under 50): £1950

Life Membership (over 50): £1560